top of page
My Pick:

My current camera is the Sony Alpha 3000, which I purchased at the National Camera Exchange. I would highly recommend it! Great for beginners, the camera's basic features and help tutorials (which you can see at the click of a button) make it easy for even the least tech savvy. Once you get the hang of using the different settings, you can take some really great pics without breaking the bank.

Search By Tag:
No tags yet.
Stay In The Know:

Minimalist Spring Cleaning Challenge - Day 2 - Makeup

Hi there!

Boy I could get used to this spring weather. Yesterday was beautiful, today feels gorgeous, lets hope it continues like this through the whole summer! All of the windows are open in my house, sunlight is streaming in, the wind is winding through the halls, the songs of the birds are flooding into my bedroom.

Aahhhh.

Which puts me into the perfect mood to do some yoga - but I can't get off track. Declutter first, yoga after.

Today is makeup day!

Here is my stash (which isn't as large as I was expecting, to be honest):

So, how does one decide what to get rid of?

I'm glad you asked. If an item fits into this criteria, toss it:

-it's broken

-you never use it

-it's old

-it's empty

-you have duplicates

-it doesn't look good on you (but you use it because you spent money on it)

-you don't really need it

Some of you are gonna disagree with some of these. But what if I run out of something? I need duplicates! This lipstick doesn't match my skin tone, but I spent a lot of money on it!

The point of minimalism is to keep things that you only need, and then a few things that you love and actually use. If it's useless, by keeping it you are just taking up more space.

If you aren't ready yet to take the next step of being more brutal, then just get rid of the things that are broken or empty, or you really don't want anyway. As you embark on a journey to minimalism, you may go back and get rid of some of the things you were reluctant to part with before.

I was so excited about my result! I want to use up my eye shadow and liner. I do use them a few times and week and like them, but I think I should gradually take them out of my routine and get used to wearing less makeup. I also am considering not using my e.l.f. blush and bronzer, though I do love it and it works great, I think now that summer is here I won't be needing it anymore. In the winter if I'm craving some color, I can always go buy another for $2, but maybe I won't. If I get rid of my eye shadow, then I will also get rid of my two brushes. That would leave me with just a lip gloss, balm, beauty blender, concealer, lash curler, and mascara. Wow! That would be even more minimalist. But I don't think I am ready to get to that level yet.

So how is spring cleaning going for you? Did you get rid of half of your makeup like me? Let me know!

Lots of Love,

Kat

bottom of page